National Races

Welsh Open Championships
Saturday 27 October 2018 

WWR DEE at Llangollen 2018 GB WWR Classic, Sprint & Team Race

British Canoeing Wild Water Racing (WWR) National Series Classic and Sprint Races and Welsh Championships, will take place on the River Dee in Llangollen, Denbighshire over the 27th and 28th October 2018.

Entry Fees £15 adults £2.50 late entry fee.

Entries in advance to:

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


There is to be no canoeing above the Horseshoe Falls or above the point between the two pump houses below the falls. This is to prevent disturbance to migrating fish.

The WWR National Classic course will run from below Horseshoe Falls, The Race Start will be from the Pump house on the canal side just below the Horseshoe falls through the Serpents Tail to just above Town Falls River Right and will be clearly marked. The course is grade II -III in normal conditions but rising to grade III -IV in spate.

The WWR National Series Sprint race will be from just below the Chain Bridge River Right finishing just below the Serpent’s Tail.

There will be no paddling over Town Falls as safety cover is not provided and the riverbed has been assessed as unsafe.


There is limited parking at the race start and competitors should park at the picnic site denoted by the green circle on the map at annex A; under no circumstances should competitors park at the Chain Bridge Hotel unless they are accommodated at the hotel. Alternatively, competitors can park in any of the public car-parks in town and paddle up the canal to the race start.


The race will be run according to WWR rules. All competitors must wear buoyancy aids, helmet etc. No safety cover will be provided so all competitors are responsible for their own safety.


Location Horseshoe Falls Car Park
Contact wildwaterracingsecretary&
PROVISIONAL TIMETABLE 2018 GB WWR Welsh Open Sat 27th Oct 2018 0930-1030 Late entries and registration at race start (WWR Top Car Park. 1100 Race brief (top car park). All WWR competitors. 1130 WWR National Classic Rac