Welcome to Wildwater Canoeing

Wildwater Canoeing is a discipline of canoe racing, also known as Wildwater Racing and Whitewater Racing. The wildwater time trial is the purest of whitewater racing forms - the athlete, the river, the clock.

A racing performance is the result of physical conditioning, skill and harmony with the water - and is the only sport where social paddling is necessary to achieve a peak performance. Beautiful water, scenery and companionship make the Wild Water Racing experience compelling. The competitor is free to take whichever route on the river they desire, a freedom of racing unsurpassed in the whitewater world. 

Wildwater Canoeing is governed by British Canoeing

Podium place for Houston and Revill at Wildwater World Champs

The Great Britain team have been in action at the 2018 ICF Wildwater World Championships in Muotathal, Switzerland.

In the individual sprint events Rachel Houston and Louise Revill were the only British paddlers to qualify for the finals, finishing on the podium in second place in the women’s C2 unofficial event. 

(Picture: Neil Smorthit)

In the women’s team sprint Victoria Murray, Lydia Oxtoby and Laura Milne claimed a fine seventh place, with Nicky Cresser, Robert Jefferies, Jacob Holmes taking tenth place in the men’s team sprint.

 In the classic individual races, held on a 4.4 km course through the village of Muotathal to the Vordere Brücke, Nicky Cresser led the way for the British senior team with a fine ninth place in the men’s K1.

Team colleagues Robert Jefferies was 37th, Jacob Holmes 47th and Fraser Gormal 51st.

In the masters event Cresser, from Nottingham Kayak Club, went on to claim the gold medal in the men's K1 classic (A race), by less than a second ahead of Guido Deprins from Belgium.

There were also K1 classic masters medals for Jamie Christie (silver C race) and Richard Vincent (bronze F race).

In the men's classic team event Nicky Cresser, Robert Jefferies and Jacob Holmes combined to finish in 11th place.

In the doubles Rachel Houston and Louise Revell claimed a fine fifth place in the women’s C2 classic, with Ryan Hunt and Mike Rees-Clark 12th in the men's C2 classic.

There were four British competitors in the women’s K1 classic, with Victoria Murray finishing in 18th place, Lydia Oxtoby 19th, Louise Revell 23rd and Laura Milne 26th.

In the Canadian singles Rachel Houston took a fine 12th place in the women's C1 Classic, with Ryan Hunt placed in 24th in the men’s C1 event

Bronze medal on day 2 of the Junior and U23 Wild Water European Championships.

Congratulations to the Junior Women’s Team who have won a bronze medal in the Team Classic event at the Junior and U23 Wild Water European Championships in Skopje, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

20180804 064233 v1


Congratulations to the Junior Women’s team (Laura Milne, Jodie Ball and Esme Durrant) who have won a bronze medal in the Team Classic event.


Holding on to their early lead the British team stayed ahead of the German and French teams to finish in an extremely creditable third place behind the winners, Czech Republic, with Slovenia in second place. 

Team Manager Julie Lewis said "This is a great result for the girls and indicative of the hard work and professionalism the whole team has displayed out here.  They executed their race plan to perfection and achieved the result that they deserve. I'm really excited to see what the team has to offer as we move onto the sprint course, with individual and team sprints over the weekend." 

The competition kicked off in Skopje, Macedonia yesterday and runs until the 5th August. 

For full updates across the weekend including results from our junior and U23 teams, follow British Wild Water on Twitter.


Updated provisional 2017-2018 rankings

Wildwater Worlds Muota - the Countdown continues

BritishWildwater: The count-down continues, with 10days till the start of the international racing season for our Team. The Minibuses leave with the team next week to get as much practice as possible on the very beautiful and challenging River Muota. We wish them all the very best in what will be a great week of competition.

Womens K1: Lydia Oxtoby, Victoria Murray, Laura Milne, Louise Revell

Mens K1: Nicky Cresser, Robert Jefferies, Fraser Gormal, Jacob Holmes

Womens C1: Rachel Houston

Mens C1: Ryan Hunt

Womens C2: Rachel Houston / Louise Revell

Mens C2: Ryan Hunt / Mike Rees-Clark

#icfwildwater #planetcanoe #wildwater

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/p/Biqn36rg7pc/
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/216485560525/
British Canoeing https://www.britishcanoeing.org.uk/news
ICF wildwater-canoeing-world-championships/muota-muotathal-2018

Stop Press - Duddon South Lakes 2 Cancelled

Duddon South Lakes 2 on June 10th has been cancelled. Race 3 will be going ahead as planned on 8th July. Race 1 results will be posted shortly - many thanks for putting on this series - all welcome.

Southern Series Race Update

A quick update on the next races coming up - all very welcome and looks like it will be a great summer of racing. Details in the race section.

19 MAY


20 MAY


27 MAY




11 AUG


ICF Wildwater Canoeing World Championships coming soon.

For the first time since 1973, Muotathal again has the honour of welcoming the Canoe World Championships. 
Muotathal is one of the ten largest communes in Switzerland by area, covering a total of 172 km2; however, having only 3600 inhabitants it is sparsely populated and much of it is nature at its most natural. Ried and Bisisthal also form part of the Muotathal district. http://www.wm-muota2018.ch/en/home/ -

WWR 2018 GB Teams finalised

Congratulations to the following paddlers who will be competing for GB in the various International events in 2018.

Senior World Championships

MC1 Ryan Hunt

MC2 Ryan Hunt/Mike Rees-Clark

MK1  Nicky Cresser

Robert Jefferies

Fraser Gormal

Jacob Holmes

WK1 Victoria Murray

Laura Milne

Louise Revell

Lydia Oxtoby

WC1 Rachel Houston

WC2 Rachel Houston/Louise Revell

 Senior World Cups

MC1 Ryan Hunt

MC2 Ryan Hunt/Mike Rees-Clark

MK1 Jacob Holmes

Ian Hosie

Alex Sheppy

Spencer Armstrong

Jack Civico

WK1 Laura Milne

Lydia Oxtoby

WC1 Rachel Houston

U23 Europeans

 MC1 Ryan Hunt

MK1 Ian Hosie

Alex Sheppy

Spencer Armstrong

James Russell

WK1  Victoria Murray

 Louise Revell

WC1 Rachel Houston

WC2 Rachel Houston/Louise Revell

Junior Europeans

MK1 Michael Denvir

Freddie Brown

WK1 Laura Milne

 Jodie Ball

 Esme Durrant

 Kasia Chmiel